When I was a child…

When I was a child, I relished the story of Arthur and Guinevere, feeling the emotional scars as Camelot was lost.  Now, as an adult, whenever I realise that a friend loses a parent, spouse, child, or another friend, I remember those literary characters are no longer with me and I grab the emotions of myself as a child and own them like I’m having them all over again.

I learned to write because of my friend Mike McGinty who went on to success in the field of advertising.

We corresponded with each other after he moved out of my hometown and became good friends again after his family moved back.

He taught me it’s okay to own your emotions and write about them.

My wife was my penpal from 7th grade to 12th grade, helping me to finetune my writing style as I fell in love with her — my permanent summer camp romance, dating each other off and on for six years, married now for almost 30 years.

It is for her that I write.

It is of my friends that I expand the character of my wife into other roles.

Not always easy to write of a universe in which we humans are such a small part but worth the effort all the same, nonetheless.

I sing a song of love for us.

Shared with the world with no desire for monetary compensation because love is free.

Standard

Leave a Reply

